Take Back The Night

I was going through and Editing my posts imported from Tumblr when I came across this one which reminded me of the Take Back The Night Foundation.

I haven’t read much about it, other than the opening paragraph of the Wiki page, but my memory is full of information which only needs to be tickled in order to come to the front so I can spew it forth so I thought I would share it with you.

I don’t plan on posting a lot that could be considered serious because I don’t like to debate things.

Don’t get me wrong: I do enjoy talking about things, serious or not, and hearing other people’s opinions on stuff but it’s too easy to shut me down sometimes :).

I don’t like living in ‘rape culture’ and I think there are better ways of resolving the issue: starting with educating our children that it is not okay to treat someone like an object, something to be used and tossed aside when we no longer have a use for it.

If we start with the children eventually sexual assault, rape and related crimes will plummet and we, men and women alike, will feel safe taking a walk at night, taking public transportation, going from the door to the car and a whole host of other things.

This may not happen in my life time, or even my own children’s life time, but it is a possibility I would love to see come to fruition.

S.W.A.K!

