Attention

fallenforbands:

hoffmango:

cause-shes-bittersweet:

smindersonfan:

secretmindreader:

Okay, this is actually what you do if you’re being sexually harassed in any kind of public space. Draw attention to it, preferably pull away and let EVERYONE know that someone is touching you. This will not only get him to get off you but he’ll definitely think about this situation next time he wants to do something like this.

Spreading the word.

My mom and I were talking about this today after hearing about a woman who was molested on a plane who said nothing until she was picked up at the airport by her parents. My mom looked at me and asked what I would do in that situation and I looked her dead in the eye and I told her “it would take me .02 seconds to realize what was going on and yell angrily, and then I would be straight on to bitch slapping him so hard he wouldn’t be able to see the punch I’d throw with the opposite hand”.

She nodded and accepted my salty language like a seasoned sailor.

I’ve had experience with this before, in Prague a group of five girls and I were followed by three men at night. After a while they started yelling at us, the most common being “how much?” Meaning how much we “cost” as prostitutes. Seeing as they weren’t going to stop, I turned on my heel, faced them (which surprised them), spat at their feet and responded with “You couldn’t afford me.” This prompted the other girls to start yelling back at them as well, starting with our spitfire Czech friend to start slinging curses in Czech as she and the rest of the girls came up beside me. Needless to say the men backed off and pretty much fled. They weren’t expecting a fight. It empowered me and encouraged the rest of the girls to yell back too.

I’ve heard that a lot of people don’t know what to do in this situation because they’ve been taught all their lives to be polite and non-aggressive. Keep your heads down or whatever.

Keep in mind that studies have shown that rapists look for victims who won’t fight back.

Remember that nobody has the right to touch you without your consent or harass you, and you have all the right to make the biggest fuss about it that you can possibly make.

Get angry. Be in command.

FUCKING RELEVANT

If someone is doing something that makes you uncomfortable like this, you do not need to be nice. Swear, kick, scream, make the asshole cry. You don’t have to nice, be as rude as you want

I’m going to date myself a wee bit here.  I was raised by parents who were raised in the 40’s and 50’s so politeness is sometimes ingrained in us from the cradle and the loss of that politeness would mean at the least a smack upside the head.

That being said:  there are plenty of us who have gotten away from the way our parents taught us to some degree.  We still use that politeness IN A SITUATION THAT CALLS FOR IT but harassment, slander and other forms of verbal or physical calling down are not in that list of situations where you be polite.

Those are the times you  pull on your shit kickers and kick the shit to the curb, you curse like a sailor if that’s what it takes.  You give them a come to Jesus like they’ve never seen.  Other women will thank you for it because it may just mean they were being jerks but it could also mean you just sent a would be attacker away with something to think about.

One thought on “Attention

  1. Too many girls get harassed and molested, even in schools, and they are expected to keep quiet and polite about it so they don’t provoke their molester. Usually, it ends up with the poor girl being raped because the guy hasn’t been taught to stay put. I find it so wrong that women have to put up with such nonsense, so with the few who actually stand up for themselves, I applaud them dearly for contributing to change. It warms my heart to read this.

    Like

S.W.A.K!

